FIN

Welcome to the website of the Chair of Finance at the University of Duisburg-Essen. 

We deal with empirical capital market research, behavioral finance, experimental finance and asset management. One focus of our research is to examine the validity of the traditional financial market theory and in particular the strict assumptions behind the "homo oeconomicus" in reality. 

Within a "Bottom-up" approach we try to draw a detailed and realistic picture of the behaviour of participants in capital markets aiming to derive implications from their behaviour. On the other hand, our "Top-down" approach aims to identify, explain and predict "abnormal" patterns in market parameters (e.g. equity returns, company valuations or liquidity) that are difficult to reconcile with standard models. In this respect, we examine both: the micro level, i.e the decision-making behaviour of investors, companies, journalists, analysts or other market participants; and the macro level, i.e. the analysis of capital markets.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us under the menu item "Team".

Contact our Team

Current Announcements

 Mon, 02. Nov. 2020   Adler-Dinglinger, Heike

Einschreibeschlüssel der Veranstaltungen/Moodle

Liebe Studierende, um an das Material Ihrer Veranstaltung zu gelangen loggen Sie sich bitte mit Ihrer Uni-Kennung und Ihrem Passwort ein. Dazu gehen Sie bitte auf unserer Homepage auf die Seite der Lehrveranstaltungen (WS2021),...
read on
 Tue, 06. Oct. 2020   Schwarz, Patrick

Courses/teaching in the winter term 2020/2021

Dear students, Due to the ongoing corona crisis, we will be offering all our modules in the upcoming winter semester 2020/2021 Investment and financing (weekly videos on Moodle) Corporate Finance (Live lecture & tutorial via...
read on
 Wed, 30. Sep. 2020   Heike Adler-Dinglinger

Seminar WS 2020/2021 at the Chair of Finance

Dear students, In the winter term 2020/2021 we offer our German-language Bachelor Seminar "Finanzwirtschaft" on the following general topic: "Dividend Policy: Determinants and Implications" The schedule is as follows: 23.10....
read on
 Mon, 17. Feb. 2020   Lauber, Alexander

The Chair has moved

Dear students, the chair FIN has moved. Since Monday, 17.2.2020 you can find us in building R11, T07, in corridor D directly above the library (7th floor). Please note the changes that have been made (rooms, telephone, address): ...
read on
 Mon, 10. Feb. 2020   Lauber, Alexander

Moodlecourse & registration for final thesis/seminar paper

Dear students, from the upcoming summer term 2020 we offer the Moodlecourse "Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten am Lehrstuhl für Finanzierung". In this course you will find all information for writing your seminar / bachelor / master...
read on

This Chair is part of the

Curriculum

Check out information on our lectures.

Curriculum

Note for Students:

Please make sure to only contact us with your current @stud.uni-due.de mail account. Otherwise we can not ensure a prompt reply!

Campus Impression

Lehrstuhl für Finanzierung

Herzlich willkommen auf den Seiten des Lehrstuhls für Finanzierung der Universität Duisburg-Essen.

Wir befassen uns mit empirischer Kapitalmarktforschung, Behavioral Finance, Experimental Finance und Asset Management. Ein Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeit liegt darin, die strikten Annahmen hinter dem „homo oeconomicus“ und der traditionellen Finanzmarkttheorie auf ihre Validität in der Realität hin zu überprüfen.

Im Rahmen eines “Bottom-up” Ansatzes versuchen wir ein einerseits, ein möglichst detailliertes, realitätsnahes Bild von den Verhaltensweisen von Akteuren an Kapitalmärkten zu zeichnen und daraus Implikationen abzuleiten. Andererseits streben wir im Rahmen eines “Top down” Ansatzes danach, “abnormale” Muster in Marktgrößen (z.B. Aktienrenditen, Firmenbewertungen, oder Liquidität), welche sich mit Standardmodellen nur schwer in Einklang bringen lassen, zu identifizieren, zu erklären, und vorherzusagen. Insofern untersuchen wir sowohl die Mikroebene, d.h. das Entscheidungsverhalten von Investoren, Unternehmen, Journalisten, Analysten oder anderen Marktteilnehmern, als auch die Makroebene, d.h. die Analyse von Kapitalmärkten.

Für Fragen stehen Ihnen natürlich die üblichen Kontaktmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung.

Kontaktmöglichkeiten

Aktuelle Meldungen

 Di, 06. Okt. 2020   Schwarz, Patrick

Veranstaltungen/Lehre im Wintersemester 2020/2021

Liebe Studierende, aufgrund der anhaltenden Coronakrise werden wir all unsere Module im anstehenden Wintersemester 2020/2021 Investition und Finanzierung (wöchentliche Videos auf Moodle) Corporate Finance (Live...
weiterlesen
 Mi, 30. Sep. 2020   Heike Adler-Dinglinger

Fachseminar WS 2020/2021 am Lehrstuhl für Finanzierung

Liebe Studierende, im Wintersemester 2020/2021 bieten wir unser deutschsprachiges Bachelor Seminar „Finanzwirtschaft“ zu folgendem Generalthema an: „Dividendenpolitik: Determinanten und Implikationen“ Der Zeitplan sieht...
weiterlesen
 Mo, 17. Feb. 2020   Lauber, Alexander

Lehrstuhl Umzug

Liebe Studierende, der Lehrstuhl FIN ist umgezogen. Seit Montag, dem 17.2.2020 finden Sie uns im Gebäube R11, T07, im Gang D direkt über der Bibliothek (7. Etage). Bitte beachten Sie die damit einhergehenden Änderungen (Räume,...
weiterlesen
 Mo, 10. Feb. 2020   Lauber, Alexander

Moodlekurs & Anmeldung Abschlussarbeit/Seminararbeit

Liebe Studierende, ab dem kommenden Sommersemester 2020 bieten wir den Moodlekurs „Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten am Lehrstuhl für Finanzierung“ für Sie an. In diesem finden Sie alle Informationen für das Schreiben Ihrer Seminar- /...
weiterlesen

Dieser Lehrstuhl ist Teil des

Curriculum

Hier finden Sie zahlreiche Informationen zu all unseren Lehrveranstaltungen.

Curriculum

Hinweis für Studierende:

Bitte senden Sie Ihre Anfragen, Anmerkungen oder Fragen über Ihre aktuelle @stud.uni-due.de-Adresse. Andernfalls können wir Ihre E-Mail nicht zeitnah bearbeiten!

Campus Impressionen